top of page

Don't no...

Updated: Oct 15, 2018


While researching a family tree there is a mystery when pertinent records are found that may bring us joy with a resounding YES!!! and a skyward fist-bump; or those that may smack us in our hearts causing a plummet to earth. I found a birth certificate of a great grandfather on me mothers side. I read it and had a moment. I wondered why after 69 years from his birth he needed one. It was for pension purposes but the emotional part was when he filled out the Birthplaces of his parents...



Don't no. No other description or hints, just Don't no. How he, a very proud farmer, must have felt when filling in the form; I can't imagine but I'm sure his heart ached as much as mine did when I read it. His name was Joseph William Mahon, son of John Joseph and Bridget Loughney-Mahon. His father born in Ogdensbury, NY and his mother born in Lombardy, Ontario. Rest in peace Joseph for your parents birthplaces have been found and recognised for generations to come. CM

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mahon Blessing

As we celebrate Saint Patrick this day kindly click on the link below to view the Blessing of our ancestors resting place in Perth. Thank you to Patti, the videographer; to Monica, the wonderful hos

bottom of page